April is here

Before the wind kicked up so radically I was able to get a saddle on Annie D.  I just set it on her a couple times.  I didn’t even bother her.  I’ve been longing Rusty here and there to give him some excercise.  On March 29, 2010, Passover, I had Ora the Farrier come out and trim my horses.  He spent an incredible amount of time with Rebel and his quarter crack.  He did a great job on Rusty.  He spent a great deal of time with Pearl.  They are all doing well.  I’m really pleased. I switched over because his prices are so much lower and with the fuel prices going up I had to do something to save money.  It turned out he did Rebel a great favor.  He cleaned out the quarter crack and trimmed the hinder part shorter than the forward part so he didn’t keep splitting the crack wider because of pressure.  Hopefully it grows out now.  He spent a lot of time watching him move and how his feet left the ground.  He was striving for a fluid departure rather than a snappy departure when the hoof breaks over. 
 
He’s Amish and I have to pick him up and take him home.  I picked him up after work from Portage so that saved my time and gas.
 
I’m amazed at how much he knows about the hoof, about horses in general, and about the correct way of trimming and shoeing.  He looks at each horse individually.  He’ll tell you his opinion too.  I’m really thankful I found him.  Thank you Lord for helping me keep my horses.
 
Pearl ran through the fence last night.  Something scared her.  I have to keep Charity and Annie in one pen and the new Paint in another pen.  She’s just mischief waiting to happen.  I think she’ll be a great riding horse but she’s into everything, disrupting everything and very busy.  She seems depressed by herself but she won’t leave the other horses alone.  Annie seems to like her.  I might put her in with Charity and Annie and see how she does.
 
It’s not suppose to be windy tomorrow.  I might spend some time with Rebel.
 
I’m thankful the Lord Jesus died on the cross to carry our sins so that we could be made pure and holy to come before the Lord in righteousness.  All we have to do is believe and obey.
This entry was posted in Equine Reports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

